Blues name team to face Aironi

Friday 29 October 7.05pm kick off


The Blues travel to Italy to take on Aironi for the first time as the Italian franchise look to pick up their first win. The new franchise has lost both home games in the Magners League at the Stadio Zaffanella so far, but have at least gained a pair of losing bonus points there.

The Blues have won all six previous encounters they have played against teams from Italy but travel to northern Italy on the back of two losses, against Castres and the Scarlets.

Martyn Williams, John Yapp and Scott Andrews have returned from the Wales squad to play in the match, while Blues Academy player Dan Fish makes his competitive debut at full back.  Cardiff RFC half backs Tom Slater and Gareth Davies are on the bench along with Blues Academy player Owen Williams.

Speaking ahead of the match, Director of Rugby David Young said,
“I’d like to think that we are hurting a bit from the Scarlets match and will be going over to Italy determined to get the win.”
“I’m quite surprised that Aironi haven’t picked recorded a victory because when you look at their team they’ve got quite a lot of internationals playing for them, especially in the pack.”
“We know it’s going to be a tough day at the office up front and they’ve pushed teams closer and closer every week.”
“It’s only a matter of time before they pick up that first win but we’ve got to make sure it’s not us.”

The Blues have already won in Italy this season, beating Benetton Treviso 19-7 in round four, but will not be underestimating the threat posed by Aironi.
“I would have thought that they may have looked at this fixture a few weeks ago, knowing we would be without our internationals, and maybe target this game because they will be at full strength,” added Young.

15 Dan Fish 14 Richard Mustoe 13 Casey Laulala 12 Dafydd Hewitt 11 Gavin Evans 10 Ceri Sweeney 9 Lloyd Williams
8 Xavier Rush 7 Martyn Williams 6 Maama Molitika 5 Paul Tito (c) 4 Michael Paterson 3 Scott Andrews 2 T Rhys Thomas 1 Tom Davies
16 Rhys Williams 17 Sam Hobbs 18 John Yapp 19 James Down 20 Andries Pretorius 21 Tom Slater 22 Gareth Davies 23 Owen Williams

Referee: Graham Knox (SRU).


Post a Comment