Harlequins became the first team to win three Amlin Challenge Cup titles when they beat Stade Fran├žais Paris 19-18 in the 15thtournament final at Cardiff City Stadium.
The 2001, 2004 and 2011 champions earned automatic qualification for next season’s Heineken Cup as the Amlin Challenge Cup winners – and by way of celebration their first match back among the elite of the European clubs will be their 50thHeineken Cup contest.
Lyon, the 2011 champions of PRO D2, will be the only team new to Amlin Challenge Cup action with Bordeaux-Begles, the second team promoted to the Top 14 for next season following their 21-14 victory over Albi, back in European cross-border action for the first time since 2003 but for what will be their ninth season of taking part in ERC tournaments. 


Post a Comment