Allenby named Glamorgan Player of the Year 2012

All-rounder Jim Allenby scooped two main awards at the Glamorgan Cricket Player of the Year Awards Lunch today.

Jim Allenby received the Player of the Year Award, presented by sponsors Pro Copy, as well as the One-Day Player of the Year Award.

During 2012 Jim helped to secure victory in limited-over matches with both bat and ball, whilst he has also made excellent contributions in the LV= County Championship, none less so than scoring an unbeaten 125 to set up the victory against Kent in the last game of the season.

In all he claimed 42 first-class wickets during yet another fine all-round season, also scoring 733 runs at an average of 40.72 whilst his 42 wickets cost just 23 runs apiece.

Allenby said: "It’s been a difficult year in many ways for us on the pitch, but there’s some good stuff in there for us and me personally too. Getting a couple hundreds and helping win a few games was positive, whilst my bowling has been coming on nicely this year.

“Getting a few wickets later on in the season on the flatter wickets probably gave me even more pleasure than taking more early on.

“We are long way away from where we need to be to compete, so the main aim now is to fix that so we can compete.

“It’s a big winter for all the staff, players and coaches, to get to the bottom of why results may have gone wrong for us and to put that right as quick as possible.

“The Kent win at the end of the season needs to be a benchmark for us, not just an outstanding game, we need to find out why we did so well that game and replicate it.”

The awards meant Allenby has collected three trophies in the last three days, having also been presented with the St Helen’s Balconiers Player of the Year Award in Swansea at the start of the week.

Earlier in the afternoon awards were also presented to:

Young Player of the Year John Glover,
Championship Player of the Year Huw Waters,
Academy Player of the Year Ruaidhri Smith
and Most Promising Academy Player of the Year Anuerin Donald.

Steffan Roberts won the Cricket Wales Geoff Holmes Player of the Year Award and Roger Skyrme the Byron Denning Clubman of the Year Award.

The event also gave the opportunity to present Cardiff MCCU with their twenty20 competition trophy as well as SWALEC Premier League teams Ammanford CC as Premier League winners, Newport CC as Second XI winners, Pontarddulais CC as Fair Play winners and Sully Centurions as twenty20 winners.

The full shortlist for the 2012 Glamorgan Awards were:

Player of the Year

Graham Wagg

Mark Wallace

Jim Allenby

One-Day Player of the Year

Jim Allenby

Mark Wallace

Chris Cooke

Four Day Player of the Year

Mark Wallace

Huw Waters

Stewart Walters

Young Player of the Year

John Glover

David Lloyd

Andrew Salter.


Post a Comment